Tripura Politics

The structure of the government of Tripura, like that of most other states of India, is determined by the national constitution of 1950. The governor is the constitutional head of state and is appointed by the president of India. The actual administration, however, is conducted by the Council of Ministers, headed by a chief minister responsible to the elected unicameral Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha). The state’s High Court, which is located in Agartala, oversees the judiciary. Tripura is divided into a handful of administrative districts, each of which is headed by a district magistrate, who also serves as the district collector. For administrative purposes, each district contains a few subdivisions, which are divided into smaller units called tehsils, which in turn embrace a number of villages and sometimes also a few towns.

A district of an Indian state is an administrative geographical unit, headed by a district magistrate or a deputy commissioner, an officer belonging to the Indian Administrative Service. The district magistrate or the deputy commissioner is assisted by a number of officials belonging to different wings of the administrative services of the state. A superintendent of Police, an officer belonging to Indian Police Service is entrusted with the responsibility of maintaining law and order and related issues.

The 2018 Tripura Legislative Assembly election was held on 18 February for 59 of the state’s 60 constituencies. With 43% of the vote, the BJP secured a majority of seats (36) and subsequently formed the government with Biplab Kumar Deb as Chief Minister. The former governing Left Front alliance while receiving 42.7% of the vote secured only 16 seats. The Left Front government was defeated after 25 years of office out of which Manik Sarkar served for about 20 years, with the Bharatiya Janata Party and Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura winning a large majority of seats. The Indian National Congress, which was the second largest party in the 2013 election, lost all its seats and most of its vote share.