Tripura: By-polls to four vacant Assembly seats announced


Agartala: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Wednesday announced the date for the by-polls of four Assembly seats in Tripura, which have been lying vacant for several months.

According to the announcement, by-elections for Tripura’s four assembly seats – Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma and Jubarajnagar – will be held on June 23.
It may be recalled that by-election to the Jubarajnagar Assembly seat was necessary after the demise of CPI (M) leader and former Assembly Speaker Raminder Chandra Debnath. While two incumbent BJP legislators – Sadeep Rai Berman, Ashish Kumar Saha – joined the Congress, BJP MLA Ashish Das was disqualified under the anti-deviance law for joining the Trinamool Congress. ۔

According to the ECI statement, counting of votes will take place on June 26 and notification of by-elections will be issued on May 30. The last date for submission of nomination papers is June 6 and the last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is June. It’s June 9th. The scrutiny of nominations will take place on June 7.
It is also worth mentioning here that all the political parties have started groundwork to garner public support. With months to go before the final election battle of 2023, all seats are equally important for political parties.

However, all eyes are on the Agartala and Bordowali constituencies as these two constituencies are the strongholds of former BJP MLAs Sadeep Rai Berman and Ashish Saha, who jumped into the Congress.
However, the ruling BJP will spare no effort to retain the seats. In addition, the CPI (M) is looking for opportunities to increase its power ahead of next year’s state assembly elections.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 35915