Tripura: BJP may announce candidates for by-elections on June 2.


Agartala: BJP may announce candidates for by-elections on June 2. The ruling BJP is likely to announce its list of candidates for the June 2 by-elections in four Assembly constituencies in the state.

With less than a month to go before the by-elections, it is being touted by political parties as a semi-final for a major election campaign in 2023.
However, the BJP seems confident enough to score 4-0.

Party sources said that the top officials of the party have almost finalized the names of the candidates and as soon as the party high command gives the green signal to the proposed names, the list will be made public. Time is very limited; It is hoped that an official announcement will be made by the party on June 2.
A senior party source said, “According to the list of provisional candidates, senior BJP leader Dr Ashok Sinha will contest from the important 6-Agartala Assembly constituency. Out of the four constituencies, 6-Agartala is important because the BJP PK sees a tough challenge in the form of Sadeep Roy Berman. So it took a while to select a suitable candidate for the constituency. But now things are fine. ”
On the other three seats, party sources said Dr Tamojit Nath has been selected for the Jubarajnagar constituency under North Tripura district. Samparani Party has fielded Sampa Das, chairperson of local Panchayat Samiti, from Surma constituency of Dhalai district.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Manik Saha will contest from his home constituency 8-Bordwali.
Prior to the formal announcement, a meeting of the party’s core committee is scheduled for May 30 where final approval of the shortlisted names will be given.

A senior BJP leader said, “Given the current situation, the chances of any change in the provisional list are slim.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 50069