To protect territorial integrity of state 23 MLAs signs resolution

To protect territorial integrity of state 23 MLAs signs resolution

Imphal: The 23 MLAs in Manipur’s ruling BJP-led government have signed a resolution pledging to protect the territorial integrity of the conflict-hit state.
The MLAs, including Speaker Th Satyabrata, Ministers Y Khemchand and Bishwajit Singh, have decided that they will visit Delhi soon to convince the central leadership to resolve the current crisis at the earliest.
Interestingly, Chief Minister N Biren Singh was not among the signatories.
After a meeting with members of the newly formed civil society organization Youth of Manipur at the Chief Minister’s Secretariat on Monday night, the signatories said that the Kuki Zo community’s demand for a separate administration was unacceptable to them.
“It is unanimously resolved by all the undersigned members of the Legislative Assembly that we shall stand for the territorial integrity of the State of Manipur and that no separate administration shall be agreed upon by us,” the resolution said. ”
Thousands of “Youth of Manipur” members marched to meet the chief minister at his bungalow on Monday night, but security forces allowed only a few of them to pass through the barricades.
The YOM members demanded that the ten Kuki MLAs who had demanded separate administration for the community in Manipur be prosecuted during their meeting with the Chief Minister.
He also demanded the state’s participation in the National Register of Citizens (NRC) exercise and the holding of a special session of the Assembly to discuss the issue.
As a “tribal solidarity march” was organized in the hill districts to protest against the Meitei community’s demand for Scheduled Tribe (ST) status, communal clashes erupted in Manipur on May 3. As a result, more than 160 people died and many were injured.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 46699