7-member panel set up by Nagaland assembly to examine Municipal Bill, 2023

Panel set up by Nagaland assembly to examine Municipal Bill, 2023

Kohima: The Nagaland Assembly constituted a seven-member select Panel headed by Deputy Chief Minister TR Zeliang to examine the Nagaland Municipal Bill, 2023.
The assembly had earlier decided to refer the bill to a select panel after the members considered the Urban Local Bodies (ULB) elections which have not been held in the northeastern state for almost two decades.
The formation of the Select Committee was announced by Speaker Sharingain Longkumer before announcing the adjournment of the session.
Longkumer told the media that the detailed mandate of the committee’s work would be communicated by the Assembly Secretariat, but generally any such panel set up to refer a government bill would submit its report within three months is required.
The Municipal Bill was introduced in the House by Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio on September 12, after which members deliberated on matters of urgent public interest related to the urban local elections.
During its March session, the Assembly repealed the Nagaland Municipal Act 2001 and decided to bring a new law incorporating the views of tribal bodies and civil societies on the 33 per cent women reservation and taxes on land and properties. should be applied.
The government had announced several times to hold ULB elections, but strong objections from tribal bodies and civil society organizations against the 33 percent women reservation and tax on land and property stalled the elections.
In 2017, when the TR Zeliang-led state government tried to hold elections, there was violence. Two people were killed and government properties and offices were damaged.
It also led to the downfall of the Zeliang Ministry. The all-party government led by Neiphiu Rio had also announced in March this year to hold elections with 33 percent women reservation as directed by the Supreme Court.
However, again after strong resistance, the government canceled the elections and also repealed the 2001 Act.
During their debate on Tuesday, the House members were of the view that the bill should be referred to a select committee for scrutiny and there should be a consensus among all stakeholders before it is passed as an Act.
Other members of the panel include Ministers KG Kenny, PP Paiwang Konyak, N Jacob Zhimomi,Metsubo Jamir and advisers Zhaleo Rio and Mahthong Yanthan. They will be assisted by NLA secretary-in-charge Khruohituonuo Rio as member secretary.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 46682