Mizoram Politics

Constitutional Framework. The basic governmental structure of Mizoram, like that of most other Indian states, is determined by the national constitution of 1950. The governor, appointed by the president of India, is the head of state and is assisted by the chief minister, the Council of Ministers, and the unicameral Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha).

Administration. The state is divided into several administrative districts, each headed by a deputy commissioner. The state is served by the High Court of Guwahati (Assam), and there is a permanent bench in Aizawl. Lower courts include district council and village courts. In Mizoram, the judiciary is not separate from the executive branch of government.

The legislative assembly election was held on 28 November 2018 to elect members of the 40 constituencies in Mizoram. Mizo National Front won 26 seats in the election. This was the first time that Congress does not have any government in any of the states in Northeast India. The current CM of the state is Zormathanga, leader of