Manipur Politics

The government of Manipur is a collective assembly of 60 elected members, of which 19 are reserved for Scheduled Tribes and 1 for Scheduled Castes. The state sends two representatives to the Lok Sabha of the Parliament of India. The state sends one representative to the Rajya Sabha. The legislature of the state is Unicameral. Representatives are elected for a five-year term to the state assembly and India’s parliament through voting, a process overseen by the offices of the Election Commission of India. The state has one autonomous council. Legislative Assembly election was held in Manipur on 4 March and 8 March of 2017 to elect the 60 members of the Manipur Legislative Assembly, as the term of the previous Assembly was to end on 18 March 2017.Voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) machines were used along with Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in four assembly constituencies in Manipur. In the last election, held in 2012, the Congress won 42 seats and incumbent Chief Minister OkramIbobi Singh was re-elected. On 15 March 2017, N. Biren Singh of BJP was sworn as the Chief Minister, having formed a coalition with National People’s Party, Naga People’s Front and the Lok Janshakti Party. This marked the first time that the Bharatiya Janata Party has formed a government in Manipur. The Indian National Congress remained the single largest party in the legislature.