Manipur assembly election: Polling underway in 22 seats


Imphal: In the second and final phase of Assembly elections in Manipur, a total of 28.19 per cent voters out of 8.38 lakh voters in 22 constituencies exercised their franchise till 11 am on Saturday.

Voting began at 7 a.m. at 1,247 polling stations in six districts amid tight security and strict adherence to the COVID-19 protocol.


No untoward incident has been reported so far, election officials said.


Among the early voters were Congress leader and former Chief Minister of Manipur O Ibobi Singh in Thoubal district.

“Congress will definitely win with an absolute majority, but if we lose less than one or two seats, the party is open to unity,” he said after casting his vote.


The fate of 92 candidates will be decided on Saturday, including 12 from the BJP, followed by the Congress (18), the National People’s Party (11), the Janata Dal (United) and the Naga People’s Front (10).


Polling will continue till 4 pm.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 147888