Manipur 2022: 92 candidates in fray for Phase 2 polls in 6 districts


Imphal: Polling officials and security personnel have dispersed in their respective districts since Thursday for the second phase of the Manipur Legislative Assembly elections on March 5 (Saturday).


A total of 92 candidates, including two women, are in the fray for the second phase in 22 constituencies in six constituencies of Manipur. Two women candidates are from BJP’s SS Olish Chandel constituency and Y Romita has been fielded by CPI from Kakching constituency.

Out of total 92 candidates, 22 are from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), 18 from Indian National Congress (INC), 11 from National People’s Party (NPP), 10-10 from Janata Dal United JD (U) and Naga. ۔ Three from the People’s Front (NPF), three from the Republican Party of India-Eighth (RPI-A), two from the Shiv Sena and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), one each from the Rashtriya Janhit Sangharsh  Party (RJSP) and 12 independent candidates from the CPI.

There are a total of 1,247 polling stations out of which 34 are model polling stations and all female polling officers will be deployed at 223 polling stations.


During the second phase of elections in Manipur, about 8,47,400 voters will exercise their franchise, of which 4,18,401 are men, 4,28,968 are women and 31 are eunuchs.



On Thursday, in addition to the six constituencies, the Election Commission of India (ECI) ordered re-polling at 12 polling stations in Manipur, where the first phase of polling took place on February 28.


Manipur CEO Rajesh Agrawal informed that re-polling in these polling stations was proposed on the basis of facts and information received / reported from the concerned Returning Officers.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 46510