Including CM Pema Khandu 6 BJP candidates may win unopposed

Including CM Pema Khandu 6 BJP candidates may win unopposed

Itanagar: As the April 19 deadline for filing nomination papers for the Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly polls approaches, the Bharatiya Janata Party sees an advantage as six of its candidates can win unopposed.
Chief Minister Pema Khandu and five other BJP candidates are expected to win their seats unopposed.
Notable constituencies likely to win without BJP candidates include Muktu, which is represented by Chief Minister Pema Khandu himself.

Khandu, who initially won from Mukto as a member of the Congress party, later joined the BJP in 2016.

His victory in 2019 further solidified his political stronghold in the region.

Similarly, Pani Taram, who recently switched allegiance to the BJP, is set to secure the Koloriang seat, which he previously held under the banner of the People’s Party of Arunachal.

In other constituencies such as Roing, Tali, Taliha, and Sagalee, BJP candidates hold a monopoly, further bolstering the party’s prospects in the upcoming elections.

Notably, former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki, representing Sagalee constituency, has also joined the BJP.

With the Congress fielding Tuki for the Arunachal West Lok Sabha seat, the political dynamics in the state are witnessing a significant shift.

In the 2019 elections, the BJP emerged as the dominant force, securing 41 seats out of the 60-member Assembly, followed by JDU, NPP, and Congress.

The scrutiny of nominations is scheduled for March 28, with March 30 set as the deadline for the withdrawal of nomination papers.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 190528