In the 2022 Manipur Assembly elections, the Congress candidates spent more than the BJP.


Imphal: Elections are usually tantamount to huge sums of money from candidates and Manipur is no different. The Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) released a detailed analysis of the amount spent by each candidate during the recently concluded Manipur Assembly elections.
According to the ADR, five MLAs from the Indian National Congress (INC) party spent Rs 15.81 lakh each, while 32 MLAs from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) contested the state elections. Each spent Rs 14.57 lakh.
BJP MLA Sorokhaibam Rajen Singh from Lamsang constituency in Imphal West district spent the most Rs 22.14 lakh, while Hinglam BJP MLA Yumnam Radheshyam Singh spent the least Rs 3.94 lakh in the elections. Done

Chief Minister Ann Baron Singh spent Rs 15.69 lakh during the election and former Chief Minister and Congress leader Okram Ibobi Singh spent Rs 20.55 lakh.
At a press conference held at Kwakeithel Mayaikoibi on Monday, Youth Collective Manipur (YCM) welcomed the ADR report of Manipur Election 2022: Analysis of MLA’s Election Expenditure Statement.

“Contrary to the public perception of astronomical increase in election expenses, the analysis of MLA’s election spending affidavits through ADR paints a very different picture,” says Thongam Zingo, coordinator of the People’s Election Monitoring (YCM). ”
According to the Election Commission of India, the expenditure limit for candidates during the 12th Manipur Legislative Elections was Rs 2.8 million.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 268643