In Arunachal assembly elections, BJP secure 10 unopposed seats

In Arunachal assembly elections, BJP secure 10 unopposed seats

Itanagar: According to Chief Electoral Officer Pawan Kumar Sain, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein are among the 10 BJP candidates elected unopposed in the state assembly elections.
CM Khandu was the sole candidate from the Mukto assembly constituency in Tawang district, while Mein bagged the Chowkham seat after his only rival, Bayamso Kri of the Congress, withdrew his nomination on Saturday.
Apart from Khandu and Mein, those who were elected unopposed include Ratu Techi (15-Sagalee), Jikke Tako (20-Tali), Nyato Dukam (23-Taliha), Mutchu Mithi (43-Roing), Hage Appa (17-Zero Hapoli), Techi Kaso (13-Itanagar), Dongru Siongju (7-Bomdila) and Dasanglu Pul (45-Hayuliang).

Sain said a single nomination paper was filed in six assembly constituencies while in four others, opposition candidates withdrew their papers.

The state BJP later in the day celebrated the uncontested election of 10 BJP candidates from different assembly constituencies in the state.

The event, held at the BJP headquarters here, was attended by key figures including Chief Minister Khandu, Assam minister and BJP’s election-in-charge for Arunachal Ashok Singhal and a host of party workers.

Addressing the gathering, Chief Minister Khandu congratulated the people of the state on the election of the 10 MLAs unopposed.

He expressed confidence in the BJP’s prospects, aiming to secure a significant majority in the upcoming election to win 60 seats in the State Assembly.

Khandu highlighted the performance and credibility of the 60 BJP official candidates, selected from over 170 party ticket seekers and emphasized the BJP-led government’s commitment to comprehensive development in the state.

The chief minister also assured to work for the greater interest of the people.

Singhal also congratulated the elected MLAs and praised the leadership of Khandu.

He acknowledged the unopposed election of 10 BJP candidates as a testament to the unwavering dedication and trust of the public towards them.

He attributed their victory to the Prime Minister Narendra Modi government’s guarantee and unwavering support.

Later, Khandu, Singhal, BJP acting president Tarh Tarak, and other party leaders discussed the planning and programmes for the election campaign in the state with party functionaries.

Elections to the remaining constituencies of the 60-member assembly and two Lok Sabha seats will be held on April 19.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 272694