For Meghalaya Assembly polls, Congress finalize candidates

Congress said BJP-NPP acting as husband wife before elections

Shillong: The Congress has released its final list of contenders for the Meghalaya Assembly polls, a senior party leader said on Sunday.

Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee president and MP Vincent H Pala said the final list of five candidates was approved by the Central Election Committee (CEC).
He said the five candidates are Jhanika Siangshai (Khliehriat), Arbiangkam Khar Sohmat (Amlarem), Chireng Peter R. Marak (Kharkutta), Dr. Tweel K. Marak (Resubelpara) and Karla R. Sangma (Rajabala).

The party had announced the names of 55 candidates for the 60-member state assembly on January 25.
Pala’s name was on the first list and he will contest the assembly elections from Sutnga-Saipung constituency in East Jaintia Hills district.

The Meghalaya Assembly elections are scheduled to be held on February 27 and the last date for filing nomination papers is February 7. The counting of votes will take place on March 2.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 279353