For LS election 2024 Solution of Naga issue is a key promise

For LS election 2024 Solution of Naga issue is a key promise

Kohima: On Tuesday, Dr Chumben Murry from National Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and Supongmeren Jamir and his substitute candidate Nagavito from Indian National Congress (INC) filed their nomination papers for Lok Sabha Election 2024 at Commissioner Nagaland & Returning Officer Office Kohima.

According to a DIRP report, the nominations were submitted before the Commissioner Nagaland & Returning Officer for 1 – Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency, Sushil Kumar Patel, assisted by Additional Deputy Commissioner & Assistant Returning Officer, Benjamin Longkap NCS.

Accompanied by Deputy Chief Minister Yanthungo Patton, Advisor Hekani Jakhalu Kense and other dignitaries, the NDPP candidate, Dr Chumben Murry, presented his nomination papers. Supongmeren Jamir and his substitute candidate Nagavito INC were accompanied by party workers during the filing process.

As anticipated, solving the protracted Naga political issue once again become the main agenda for the candidates contesting the Lok Sabha election.

Interacting with media persons after submitting his papers for the April 19 Lok Sabha poll in the state, Dr Murry said he is confident of winning the election. “I will be the voice of the people of the State in taking up the issues of the Nagas, particularly the Naga political issue,” a PTI report quoting Dr Murry said. He hoped that the election would be a “friendly” affair among the candidates.

Meanwhile, speaking after the ticket handing over ceremony organized by the Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) at Congress Bhavan, Kohima, Supongmeren Jamir said Congress will resolve the problems faced by the people of Nagaland including solution to Naga political issue and Eastern Nagaland’s demand for Frontier Nagaland Territory after the INDIA bloc forms government at the Centre.

Jamir described PDA government’s claim in bringing 60 legislatures as an opposition-less government to solve the long standing Naga political issues as a sham as there was still no solution and they were only playing delay tactics by giving false commitment to the people of the state.

“Every election, they are making commitment without any solution,” the Congress leader claimed while alleging that the PDA government was a facilitator or agent of the Central government and not facilitator of the people of the state.

In addition, he alleged that the BJP government, which the PDA government has acknowledged as ‘visionary’, are against the wishes and aspirations of the minorities or Naga people which were evident from implementations, oaths or non secular practices like conducting programmes and events on Sundays.

Jamir claimed that the Congress government at the Centre and State were “very serious about the Naga Political solution and equally serious about the Eastern Naga Political Organization (ENPO) once the INDIA Bloc forms the government.” “We will give the mandate and will not take time like the PDA Government,” he added.

A total of four nominations have been filed for the Lok Sabha Election from Nagaland State as on March 26. The Congress nominated S Supongmeren Jamir for the Nagaland Lok Sabha constituency. The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate was selected unanimously by constituents of the Peoples’ Democratic Alliance (PDA).

The NDPP, BJP, NCP, National Peoples’ Party, LJP (Ram Vilas), Naga People’s Front, RPI (Athawale), JD (U) and Independent legislators are part of the alliance.

Independent candidate Hayithugn Tungoe Lotha filed his nomination papers on March 23. He was the first candidate to submit the nomination documents for the Lok Sabha seat. The filing of nominations will end on March 27, Wednesday.

According to the Election schedule for Lok Sabha Election 2024, the deadline for filing nomination papers is Wednesday, March 27. Scrutiny of the submitted papers will take place on Thursday, March 28, followed by the opportunity for candidates to withdraw their names by Saturday, March 30. The voting is scheduled for Friday, April 19, with the counting of votes slated for June 4.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 272936