Central govt extended disputed AFSPA in Nagaland for Six months

Central govt extended disputed AFSPA in Nagaland for Six months

Kohima: The Government of India has extended the Armed Forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA), 1958 in eight districts and 21 police stations in five districts of Nagaland, declaring them as ‘disturbed areas’ for a period of six months from April 1.
The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) announced this through a notification on Wednesday.
This decision has been taken by the Center after reviewing the law and order situation in the state of Nagaland.
AFSPA has been extended for the next six months in Nagaland’s Dimapur, Niuland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek, and Peren districts.
Additionally, it has been extended to the areas under the jurisdiction of 21 police stations spread over Zunheboto, Mokokchung, Kohima, Wokha, and Longleng Districts.

The 21 police stations include Khuzama, Kohima North, Kohima South, Zubza, and Kezocha in Kohima district; Mangkolemba, Mokokchung-I, Longtho, Tuli, Longchem, and Anaki ‘C’ in Mokokchung district; Yanglok in Longleng district; Bhandari, Champang, and Ralan in Wokha district; and Ghatashi, Pughoboto, Satakha, Suruhuto, Zunheboto, and Aghunato in Zunheboto district.

These areas gave been tagged as “disturbed area” under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958, for a period of six months with effect from April 1, 2024, unless withdrawn earlier.”

Previously, the Central Government had declared eight districts and 21 Police Stations in five other districts of Nagaland as ‘disturbed areas’ for a period of six months effective from October 1, 2023. AFSPA was partially removed in Nagaland in 2022.

The AFSPA grants special powers to security forces, including the authority to arrest individuals without a warrant and enter or search premises without a warrant, among other actions.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 273119