Bernard Marak from BJP to contest against CM Sangma;polls 2023

Bernard Marak from BJP to contest against CM Sangma;polls 2023

Shillong: The BJP on Thursday announced Bernard N. Marak, its state unit vice-president and a former militant leader, as its official candidate against Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma in South Tura constituency.

The saffron party will contest all 60 Meghalaya Assembly seats and will announce the names of all its candidates on Thursday.
It had decided to part ways with the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance led by Conrad Sangma last month, a party spokesperson said here.

He said that the names of the people included in the list include two sitting BJP MLAs, Sanbor Shullai and A L Hek, who will contest from Shillong South and Pynthorukhrah constituencies in the city.
Sitting MLAs who had left other parties to join the BJP in the past few months have also been included in the list. Among them are H M Shangpliang, Ferlin Sangma, Benedict Marak and Samuel M Sangma who will contest from Mawsynram, Selsella, Raksamgre and Baghmara constituencies respectively.
State BJP president Ernest Mawrie, who unsuccessfully contested from Nongthymmai constituency in 2018, will contest from West Shillong constituency. Party spokesperson, M H Kharkrang, will contest from Shillong North constituency, according to the party.

The spokesperson said that the party has also fielded seven women candidates, including former NPP MLA Ferlin Sangma.
Marak surrendered in 2014 and dismantled the ANVC-B militant group. He joined the Achik National Voluntary Council (ANVC), an armed militant group, to create a separate state for the Garo tribals.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 279348