Australia become 1st to win all ICC trophies after beating India

Australia become 1st to win all ICC trophies after beating India

Australia on Sunday became the first team to win all the International Cricket Council (ICC) trophies on offer with a light showdown over India on the fifth and final day of the World Test Championship (WTC) 2023 final.
In the only Test match against India, Australia won their first title at London’s Kennington Oval with a 209-run victory. Led by Pat Cummins, Australia set a mammoth target of 444 runs which proved too much for India.
India started the day needing 280 runs to win by seven wickets. However, Scott Boland struck early to dismiss Virat Kohli who departed after scoring 49, five more than his overnight score. After his dismissal, Australia ran through the Indian middle and lower order in the first session itself.
With their win, Australia became the first team to win all major ICC titles. Australia has already won the ODI World Cup five times in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. Apart from this, they won back-to-back ICC Champions Trophy in 2006 and 2009.
Australia also won the T20 World Cup in 2021 to end their drought by defeating New Zealand in the final.
On the other hand, it was India’s fourth loss in an ICC final since winning the Champions Trophy in England in 2013. India finished as runners-up in the 2014 T20 World Cup, followed by the 2017 Champions Trophy and the final edition of the WTC in 2021.
Meanwhile, Australia will take on England in the Ashes series from June 16. India will get a rare break of a month before touring the West Indies to play the all-format series on July 12.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 279121