AFSPA now only in 31 districts, partly in 12 districts of 4 NE states


New Delhi: The AFSPA, which has declared the geographical location as a disturbing area to facilitate the operations of the Armed Forces, now covers only 31 districts and partly northeast Assam, Nagaland, Manipur. And will apply to 12 districts in four states. Arunachal Pradesh

These four states together consist of 90 districts.

The Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958, was completely withdrawn in Meghalaya in 2018, Tripura in 2015 and Mizoram in 1980.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Thursday announced the reduction of ‘troubled areas’ in the Northeast under the AFSPA.

The move appears to be in line with the recommendations of a high-level committee set up to look into the possibility of repealing the law after 14 civilians were killed by the army in Nagaland’s Moon district in December last year.

The AFSPA authorizes security forces to conduct operations and arrest anyone without prior warrant, and provides security forces with immunity from arrest and prosecution if they shoot someone.

In two separate notifications issued late on Thursday, the Union Home Ministry said that the police stations in Dimapur, Newland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek, Peren and Zunheboto districts of Nagaland and Khuzama, Kohima North, would be closed. Areas under control.

Nagaland has 15 districts. The ‘Distressed Areas’ notification has been in force across Nagaland since 1995.

For Arunachal Pradesh, the Home Ministry has said that Tirap, Changlang and Longing districts, and areas under the jurisdiction of Namsai and Mahadevour police stations in Namsai district bordering Assam will be covered under AFSPA for six months from April 1. Declared ‘troubled areas’.

Arunachal Pradesh has 26 districts.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 42591