30 of 36 disputed villages along Assam border to remain in Meghalaya


Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma on Monday informed the Assembly that out of 36 disputed villages on the Meghalaya-Assam border, 30 have been recommended by the regional committees of the two states to remain in Meghalaya.


He said that 36 villages cover an area of ​​36.9 sq km, while 30 villages are spread over an area of ​​18 sq km.


Addressing the House on the progress of talks with the Assam government to resolve the inter-state border dispute, the Chief Minister said that the two states had agreed that any of the differences in the 12 areas already identified would be resolved. New sections will not be added.


Assam, Meghalaya safeguarded hope for a solution to the decades-old border issue.


Of the 36 villages claimed by Meghalaya in 2011, a total of 30 regional committees of the two states have recommended staying in Meghalaya. However, the ownership of the land will not be affected after the demarcation, ”he said.


Sangma said, “All the eight villages in the Tarabari area from Meghalaya will remain in the state. In Gizang, in the western Khasi Hills district, two of the three claimed villages will remain under our administrative control.”


The Chief Minister said that Meghalaya would meet 11 out of 12 villages in Ham area.


Boklapara in Ri-Bhoi district will remain in Meghalaya while Jamrigaon will move to Assam.


In the Khanapara-Pelangata area, parts of Pilangata, Maikoli and Barapathar will be in Meghalaya, while the Assamese area of ​​Khanapara and Dreamland Resort will go to Assam. He said the rest of the area, including the entire Brahmaputra realtors, would be in Meghalaya.


Sangma said the talks, visits and surveys were conducted by regional committees of both the states headed by cabinet ministers, and special technology was used in the exercise. The Survey of India will determine the areas more accurately in the presence of representatives of both the states.


The Chief Minister said that the two states had signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) at the end of January to resolve their differences in six areas and it had been sent to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 271686