3 villages of Meghalaya were involuntarily made part of Assam: HSPDP


Shillong: KP Pangniang, head of the Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP), an ally of the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA), has accused three villages that were “originally part of the western Khasi hills” of Are not included. The list of locations was given to Meghalaya in an agreement signed between Chief Minister Konrad Sangma and his Assam counterpart to resolve inter-state border disputes.

The HSPDP also claimed that the villages were “relocated” to Assam against the wishes of the local population.

“The three villages – Joypur, Salbari and Huwapara – have not been made part of Meghalaya even though the villagers have openly stated that they want to be part of the state,” said the HSPDP leader, a regional organization whose two Are MLAs. 60-member House.

Pangniang said he would raise the issue at the next MDA meeting.

According to the agreement signed in March, Assam will get 18.46 sq km and Meghalaya 18.33 sq km out of 36.79 sq km area for resolution in the first phase.

Earlier, the TMC, the state’s leading opposition party, claimed that the Meghalaya government had given Assam a “gift” of tribal lands along the interstate border without the consent of the landlords.

Leave a reply

Secured By miniOrange
Visitors: 50006